Chat  Classifieds 

Kerala Blog New


Malayalam Songs

Malayalam Video

Kerala Info


Kerala Photos









Ban vs SL: Sri Lanka lose Jayawardene early in Asia Cup

NEW DELHI: Nazmul Hossain gave Bangladesh an early breakthrough when he clean bowled Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene in the fourth over in the last league match of the Asia Cup at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday.

Scorecard Asia Cup Stats Asia Cup Schedule 

Jayawardene hit 5 runs before he played across the line to a ball that went through the gap between bat and pad.

The breakthrough came after Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and chose to bowl.

Bangladesh have brought in Nazmul Hossain in place of Shafiul Islam.

Sri Lanka have replaced Dinesh Chandimal and Seekkuge Prasanna with Chamara Kapugedera and Sachithra Senanayake.

Despite the huge following that the Bangladesh cricket team has, it hasn’t been too successful in the international arena, and a berth in the Asia Cup final will really mean a lot for the country.

If Bangladesh beat Sri Lanka in this final league encounter, they will be same on the points table with India and will qualify for the final by virtue of beating MS Dhoni’s men in the league stage.

The Indian team, of course, is hoping that a demoralized Sri Lanka, after crashing out, will play one good game and help them go through.

The Bangladesh team, though, is not feeling intimidated by Sri Lanka. They know it’s a very important game as the entire country is looking at them, but the boys are trying to treat it as “just another match”.

The Bangladesh batting has really come good with the likes of Tamim Iqbal, Shakib-al-Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim all striking good form.

The Sri Lankan batting has the potential to run away with the game, and after a couple of failures against Pakistan and India, the big guns like Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara will look to make the most of it.


Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt.), Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Jahurul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Nazmul Hossain.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (Capt.), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Chamara Kapugedera, Sachithra Senanayake.

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 20 2012. Filed under Cricket News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Recently Commented